American Harp Foundation

Supporting and Preserving
the Art of the Harp

American Harp Foundation


Founded in 1993, the American Harp Foundation houses nineteen educational funds in which donations are held for specific educational projects, such as scholarships, awards and prizes, each in accordance with the intent of the original donor.

As of 2023, the American Harp Foundation is more inclusive, with a full array of investment tools for all non-profit American harp organizations, including classical, folk, historical, and jazz. With an extraordinary 30-year record the Foundation has successfully helped many harpists with scholarships and awards. Your donations will be a secure investment with the American Harp Foundation. Come be part of this rich legacy, either as an individual or with your musical organization!

Legacy Opportunities

The Foundation houses many specific-named endowment funds. There are numerous opportunities for donors to support the Foundation and its shared mission with the American Harp Society, including an online donation portal. Besides your individual donation, you can raise money various ways within your AHS chapter. Some chapters have donated to the various funds, in particular, the Anne Adams Awards. These awards sustain the biennial auditions, and we encourage, welcome and appreciate your help.

The longevity and excellence of the Society’s educational projects and scholarships are ensured by the work of the Foundation. Each of you can help the Foundation to grow. You can be a part of that legacy.


Your donation to the American Harp Foundation helps fund our educational projects that provide scholarships and awards to young harpists.


2020 and 2022
Anne Adams and Grandjany Memorial Competitions

Jointly released in conjunction with the American Harp Society’s 60th Annual Conference

Foundation Members

Sally Maxwell (1935–2013), Founder, President Emeritus
Wenonah Govea, Founder, Emeritus

Foundation Board of Directors

Carrie Kourkoumelis, President
Kathleen Bride, Vice President
Holly Avesian, Secretary
Penny Howk Beavers, Treasurer and Donor Relations
Frances Duffy, Competitions Director
Kristina Finch

Elizabeth Huntley
Paula Page

Foundation News

The 2022 recipients of the Anne Adams Award and the Grandjany Competition have been announced. See the News page for details.

See the Foundation Brochure.

For Questions:

Contact Foundation President
Carrie Kourkoumelis by email
American Harp Foundation
28 Cargill Street
Melrose, MA  02176

Send Donations to:

American Harp Foundation
c/o Penny Beavers
646 Worcester Drive
Cambria, CA 93428-3230

Photo courtesy of Patricia Gilhooly.

History of the American Harp Foundation

Foundation Founders

Burton Adams, Wenonah Govea, Sally Maxwell, Jack Nebergall, Ruth Papalia, Dorothy Remsen

In 1990, a small group of long-time members of the AHS foresaw the potential of housing large donations and scholarship funds for the American Harp Society in a separate organization. It was their objective to hold the funds where they could grow and be used only for the purpose intended by donors. For 25 years these funds have been used to award scholarship funds for college students, national competition winners, high school students attending summer camp, and harp students in extreme need.

In 1993, the American Harp Foundation began three new awards: the Nebergall Award, the Karl Carlson Award, and the Doris Calkins Award. The Foundation now houses 18 separate funds.

Each fund within the Foundation is designated for a specific purpose. Only a portion of the interest/gains is given for each award and scholarship, thereby creating and building an endowment to ensure the funds and their growth in perpetuity.

American Harp Foundation