American Harp Foundation logo

The American Harp Foundation
Awards and Scholarships for 2024

2024 Competitions

The American Harp Foundation is pleased to announce that the 2024 Anne Adams Awards (May 29) and Marcel Grandjany Memorial Competition (May 30) will take place on May 29–30, 2024, at Mason Gross School of the Arts, Rutgers University, in New Brunswick, NJ. The competitions will conclude with the winners’ recital on the evening of May 30, which will be open to the American Harp Society, the Rutgers community, and the public. Rutgers is located 25 minutes from Newark Liberty International Airport and is accessible by train from New York City. More information about local hotels and accommodation will be provided to applicants.

Competitors will perform in Nicholas Music Center. This 704-seat music hall serves as the largest performance space on campus. Designed by the distinguished architect Pietro Belluschi—whose roster of other projects includes Alice Tully Hall in New York City, the Davies Symphony Hall in San Francisco, and the Meyerhoff Symphony Hall in Baltimore—the center was built in 1981 and underwent extensive renovations in 2018.

History and General Information

Founded in 1993, the American Harp Foundation has an extraordinary portfolio of scholarships and awards it has generated for the benefit of multiple generations of harpists. The two largest and oldest of these are the Anne Adams Awards and the Grandjany Memorial, which entail separate but connected major competitions held biennially.

It is awe-inspiring to look at the lists of previous winners of both the Adams Competitions and the Grandjany Memorial Competitions to grasp the full significance of these two American Harp Society Foundation-sponsored competitions.

The harpists who’ve won these awards are among the most prominent and accomplished harpists in the world, holding principal harp positions in the major orchestras, traveling the globe as soloists and chamber musicians, winning Grammy nominations and awards for their star-studded recordings, and teaching the next generations of harpists from the finest conservatories and colleges all over the country.

To fully appreciate the artistry of these former American Harp Foundation competition winners and the rich legacy they are carrying forward, one can explore some of the many links to their dazzling performances on our Facebook and Instagram social media links:

We urge all who have won either the Adams or Grandjany Memorial competitions to contact us directly to tell us how these awards and scholarships have influenced your lives, both professionally and personally (below). We would love to post your testimonials so that our many contributors can more fully appreciate how their generous donations have helped shaped your lives!

Carrie Kourkoumelis, President

The American Harp Foundation Awards are held on behalf of the American Harp Society.

Other Foundation Awards are described on the Scholarships  page.

The American Harp Foundation is very proud to acknowledge our sponsors: Lyon & Healy Harps.

American Harp Foundation